Skip to content


Think something is wrong with my internet!!

all things techy
you never know, might get an answer

Moderator: Edpow1


Think something is wrong with my internet!!

Postby Assassin » Sat Oct 02, 2004 6:42 pm

it now takes me ages to load plages and i get a little bar in the bottom right going up as the page loads. Also i seem to be getting real bad lag on call of duty . another thing i noticed is that when i was loading up the forums the little smily faces u can see take ages to load , its as if i have 56k again .wtf !!
any ideas?
Assassin
Unteroffizier
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 7:56 pm
Location: United Kingdom


Think something is wrong with my internet!!

Postby Assassin » Sat Oct 02, 2004 6:42 pm

it now takes me ages to load plages and i get a little bar in the bottom right going up as the page loads. Also i seem to be getting real bad lag on call of duty . another thing i noticed is that when i was loading up the forums the little smily faces u can see take ages to load , its as if i have 56k again .wtf !!
any ideas?
Assassin
Unteroffizier
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 7:56 pm
Location: United Kingdom


Think something is wrong with my internet!!

Postby Assassin » Sat Oct 02, 2004 6:42 pm

it now takes me ages to load plages and i get a little bar in the bottom right going up as the page loads. Also i seem to be getting real bad lag on call of duty . another thing i noticed is that when i was loading up the forums the little smily faces u can see take ages to load , its as if i have 56k again .wtf !!
any ideas?
Assassin
Unteroffizier
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 7:56 pm
Location: United Kingdom


Postby Edpow1 » Sat Oct 02, 2004 6:58 pm

worm or virus, my dad is having similar problems

Try this site http://housecall.trendmicro.com/houseca ... t_corp.asp

scan for viruses
User avatar
Edpow1
Herr Oberst
 
Posts: 2178
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 8:58 pm
Location: United Kingdom


Postby TEF » Sat Oct 02, 2004 8:04 pm

i gave him that address [^]
User avatar
TEF
Herr General
 
Posts: 6790
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 10:24 pm
Location: Sweden


Postby Dark Angel » Sat Oct 02, 2004 9:56 pm

I would suggest a good combination of av and firewall if you haven't got them already. For firewall try zone alarm, it's free and supposed to be good [:D]
Dark Angel
Hauptman
 
Posts: 490
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 10:23 am
Location: United Kingdom


Postby TEF » Sat Oct 02, 2004 11:07 pm

zone alarm is ****e [:(!]
User avatar
TEF
Herr General
 
Posts: 6790
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 10:24 pm
Location: Sweden


Postby Assassin » Sun Oct 03, 2004 11:25 am

ty edd , i have 2 choices for firewall already , i got norton + a windows 1, is it bad to have 2 on or good ? , and which 1 of theses 2 firewalls is better?
Assassin
Unteroffizier
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 7:56 pm
Location: United Kingdom


Postby Dark Angel » Sun Oct 03, 2004 12:24 pm

Fair enuff tef. Just going off what I've heard...never used it myself coz I'm mcafee'd up to the hilt [^]
Dark Angel
Hauptman
 
Posts: 490
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 10:23 am
Location: United Kingdom


Postby Dark Angel » Sun Oct 03, 2004 12:27 pm

btw ass, I would suggest norton over the windows one as it will probably be more effective. Personally, I prefer Mcafee to Norton but it probably all comes down to personal preference
Dark Angel
Hauptman
 
Posts: 490
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 10:23 am
Location: United Kingdom


Postby Gapiro » Sun Oct 03, 2004 1:33 pm

use the norton one... windows firewall ****s up games....
and get "spybot search and destroy "and use that every month or so
User avatar
Gapiro
Herr General
 
Posts: 3152
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 4:01 pm
Location: United Kingdom


Postby Assassin » Sun Oct 03, 2004 1:49 pm

wth is spybot ?
Assassin
Unteroffizier
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 7:56 pm
Location: United Kingdom


Postby Edpow1 » Sun Oct 03, 2004 4:58 pm

basically it routes out spy ware in your files - things that might use ur internet space without u wanting them to, e.g. Gamespy arcade comes with lots of these

They report where u go on the net back to companies who then email u ****

spy bot gets rid of these
User avatar
Edpow1
Herr Oberst
 
Posts: 2178
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 8:58 pm
Location: United Kingdom


Postby Assassin » Sun Oct 03, 2004 6:54 pm

i see , cheers
Assassin
Unteroffizier
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 7:56 pm
Location: United Kingdom


Postby Gapiro » Mon Oct 04, 2004 12:10 pm

just google spybot search destroy and its something along the lines of safer-internet.com or something....



norton av is teh roxor
User avatar
Gapiro
Herr General
 
Posts: 3152
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 4:01 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Next

Return to Board index

Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest